Nakshatras & Astrology

Ashwini Bharani Krittika Rohini
Mrigshirsha Ardra Punarvasu Pushya
Ashlesha Magha Purvaphalguni Uttaraphalguni
Hasta Chitra Swati Vishakha
Anuradha Jyeshtha Moola Purvashadha
Uttarashadha Shravana Dhanishtha Shatbhisha
Poorvabhadrapada Uttarabhadrapada Revati Abhijit

Nakshatra or Stars in Astrology

These celestial luminaries make all the difference in astrological calculations. Initially, the zodiac was grouped in 12 Rashis for convenience, however the ancient seers have farther subdivided the heavens into 27 Nakshatras or star constellations for the call of precession. These constellations or the Nakshatras emerged as one of the most important components in Astrology.

Vedic astrology identifies each constellation with a star. The 360 degree division of the sky is therefore further divided into 27 subdivision of 13.20 degrees identified with 27 stars. Each of these Nakshatras are farther subdivided into four Padas or quarters of 3 degrees and 20 minutes. Therefore the first Rashi, Mesha, which has 30 degrees, contains the entire 4 Padas (13:20′) of the 1st star constellation Ashwini, the entire 4 Padas (13:20′) of the 2nd star constellation Bharani and the 1st Pada (3:20′) of the third star constellation Krittika. In this manner, each Rashi comprises of 9 Padas. Some schools of astrology also consider 28 divisions with an additional star called Abhijit. However, for all practical purposes only 27 stars starting from Ashwini are considered. (Ref: the chart).

These Nakshatras are broadly classified under the three heads of Deva (divine), Nara (human) and Rakshasa (Demonic). Farther, they are subdivided by their gender and Varna (cast), and are also ascribed with qualities such as colour, presiding deity, merits and ruler ship of body parts, planets etc.

While the effects of a particular planet placed in a Rashi is studied, the position of the planet in respect to the Nakshatra and its particular Pada is also born in mind. Indians through ages have been taking into account these Nakshatras for determining the auspicious dates and Muhurtha (moment) for any cultural or religious event including marriage. The role of Nakshatras and their respective Padas in predictive astrology is unique to Indian astrology.

Nakshatras (Constellations) and their essential merits

No. Nakshatras (Constellations) Astronomical Name Deity Ruling Planet Starting Dasha Colour
1 Ashwini Beta Arietis Ashwini brothers Ketu Blood red
2 Bharani 35 Arietis Yama Venus Blood red
3 Krittika Eta Tauri Agni Sun White
4 Rohini Aldebaran Brahma Moon White
5 Mrigshirsha Lambda Orionis Chandra Mars Silver Grey
6 Ardra Alpha Orionis Rudra Rahu Green
7 Punarvasu Beta Geminorium Adity Jupiter Lead
8 Pushya Delta Cancri Brihaspathi Saturn Black mixed with red
9 Ashlesha Alpha Hydroe Nagas Mercury Black mixed with red
10 Magha Regulus Pithras Ketu Ivory or cream
11 Purvaphalguni Delta Leonis Bhaga Venus Light brown
12 Uttaraphalguni Beta Leonis Aryaman Sun Bright blue
13 Hasta Delta Corvi Aditya Moon Deep green
14 Chitra Spica Virginis -Vegus Tvashtav Mars Black
15 Swati Arcturus Vayu Rahu Black
16 Vishakha Alpha Libroe Indra-Agni Jupiter Golden
17 Anuradha Delta Scorpio Mitra Saturn Reddish brown
18 Jyeshtha Antares Indra Mercury Cream
19 Mula Lambda Scorpio Nirrti Ketu Brownish yellow
20 Purvashadha Delta Sagittari Jal Venus Black
21 Uttarashadha Sigma sagittari Vishwa deva Sun Copper
22 Shravana Alpha Aquiloe Vishnu Moon Light blue
23 Dhanishtha Beta Delphinum Ashta vasav Mars Silver Grey
24 Shatbhisha Lambda Aquarius Varuna Rahu Aquamarine
25 Poorvabhadrapada Alpha Pegasi Ajaikapat Jupiter Silver grey
26 Uttarabhadrapada Gama Pegasi Ahir Budhanya Saturn Purple
27 Revati Zeta Piscum Pooshvav Mercury Brown
28 Abhijit Vega Brahma Sun Brownish yellow

Comments are closed.